Background Ad


2018 Bob Warnicke Scholarship Winners

Filed under General on May 11, 2018 | Comment(s)

Gilbert, Arizona – May 11, 2018: USA BMX announces that $48,000 in Bob Warnicke Scholarships for 2018 has been awarded to deserving students and their families. Funds are raised annually through the Warnicke Scholarship Race.  This series of races was created to help fund The Bob Warnicke Memorial Scholarship Fund which assists students and their families in meeting the costs of undergraduate college education, trade school and other education avenues they would like to pursue. USA BMX/BMX Canada members who have a current USA BMX/BMX Canada membership or Track Operators/Officials who participate in BMX racing events sanctioned by USA BMX/BMX Canada are eligible to apply.  Since 2013, more than $300,000 has been awarded.

On November 16, 1994, Bob passed away at the young age of 48 years old.  Well known for his leadership role and for his many efforts in promoting the sport, Bob’s many contributions improved the sport and the image of BMX throughout the years.  He will best be remembered for his instrumental role in bringing BMX to millions of viewers through the airing of the "Road to Glory Series" on ESPN and ESPN2.  More than anything else, Bob was a person who cared deeply about the sport of BMX, and his dedication showed his commitment to the youth who benefited from his efforts. 

The Scholarship Program preserves Bob Warnicke's legacy of love by contributing to the futures of deserving USA BMX / BMX Canada members in his name.  This year 56 awards were given to recipients in 28 states and two Canadian provinces.  Thirty-three college or trade school-bound students were first-time recipients of the award.  Fourteen students were second-year recipients, 16 were third-year recipients, and this year saw seven four-year recipients of the award.  Awards ranged from $500 to $3,000.

“Each year the pool of scholarship candidates increases and the quality of applications continue to improve,” said BA Anderson, CEO of USA BMX.  “The selection process gets harder each year and we are grateful to all of our tracks that participate in the Warnicke Scholarship Race.  Through the efforts of the tracks and private donors, we are able to continue to award these deserving students.”

The USA BMX Foundation has created an endowment for the Bob Warnicke Memorial Scholarship Fund.  Each year money raised through the Warnicke Scholarship races and the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are placed into the endowment.  Donations to the 501(c)3 are always appreciated and are utilized for the scholarship fund.  For more information on a Bob Warnicke Scholarship Race near you, visit

2018 Bob Warnicke Scholarship Recipients are:

Maria Willsey Goodyear Arizona
Bryce Batten Glendale Arizona
Layne Gainer Peoria Arizona
Daniel Paradine Glendale Arizona
Ramone Vick Gilbert Arizona
Drew Mechielsen Langley British Columbia
Gavin Victor Santa Barbara California
Sarah Weese Riverside California
Sumiko Yuki Sacramento California
Dustin Hammond Stockton California
Shelby Schumacher Thornton Colorado
Kyra Chiappini Cape Coral Florida
Jason Cunningham Lutz Florida
Ashley Turner Fort White Florida
Anissa May Honolulu Hawaii
Tyler Whitfield Rockford Illinois
Zachary Swim Algonquin Illinois
Dylan Seal Bloomington Indiana
Emily Brent Topeka Kansas
Emrick Swan Crestwood Kentucky
Joslynn LaRock Cambridge Minnesota
Jamie Windholz Centerview Missouri
Bryce Sprague Carthage Missouri
Shelby Fuller-Larson Lincoln Nebraska
Nicholas Arbogast Wood River Nebraska
Andrew Sanchez Las Cruces New Mexico
Danielle Sanchez Las Cruces New Mexico
Mariana Gigliuto Clintondale New York
Justin Ledoux Wallkill New York
Aliceon Calta Windsor New York
Rebecca Robison Greensboro North Carolina
Emily Mundahl Bismarck North Dakota
Mattaya Mills Bismarck North Dakota
Evan Leclair Almonte Ontario
Brenden Hay Nepean Ontario
Josh Samells Milton Ontario
Graeme Corrigan Orleans Ontario
Olivia Armstrong Bend Oregon
Debbie Slovikosky Gallitzin Pennsylvania
Brandon Bolish Hazleton Pennsylvania
Shaylee Gunzenhauser Bethel Park Pennsylvania
Benjamin Snell Seven Fields Pennsylvania
Timberly Cressman Ford City Pennsylvania
Colin Domnick Dalton Pennsylvania
Emily Garrity Sayre Pennsylvania
Healey Miller Lancaster Pennsylvania
Samantha Miller Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Caitelynn Palombo Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Brighton Alvey Salt Lake City Utah
Jordan Edwards Eagle Mountain Utah
Rylie Edwards Eagle Mountain Utah
Callie Mueller Everett Washington
Marcus Hutko Orting Washington
Rey Brewer Oshkosh Wisconsin
Skylar Schaetz Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin
Grace Peterson Reliance Wyoming


Image Gallery

  • Warnicke2_mxw60_mxh60_e1